Dream and dream some more…

As the launch date for my venture gets closer, tension rises, this is it, moment of truth. All eyeballs are on the prey, armed with pre-conceived notions of failure or success, each has their reasons, each has their logic. Game on!

I hope you don’t think I’m paranoid. I’m just a realist merely reflecting on past insinuations. I must admit, it bothers me that I still dwell on negative comments, I suppose the key to progress is just to take things in, process them and then trash them quickly. It’s human nature to place more emphasis on the negative, this is a bad habit which needs to be abolished, eventually.

This sets the scene to Napoleon Hill’s hallmark expression:

“What the mind of man can conceive and believe, it can achieve.”

The fact that it’s about a man does bother me but this is not the point. The point here is that it’s healthy to be a dreamer and to think big. Growing up within my family, dreaming was not really encouraged. “You are too ambitious” my father said as if it’s a problem. I am here to respectfully disagree and to beg you all to dream, dreams add colors to a dull life and dreams will eventually materialize.

Going back to my venture, my dreams were my catalyst. I asked my mother if she could describe one trait that she felt stood out about me while I was growing up, she said: “you always wanted equality and fairness”.

About 20 years or so later, here I am, working on a venture which will give people equal opportunities no matter what their age, race, religion or gender is. Working on a venture which will provide the women and the youth with an outlet to show their potential and get found. My dream was to do something that matters and in no way am I saying that this is the end of the road, mission accomplished. This is only the beginning of the journey.

The purpose of this little story is not to advertise my venture, it is to emphasize the power of dreams and of potential. When I was studying Hospitality Management in Australia, I never thought I would be where I am today.

I hope you found this post useful, as an entrepreneur, I would encourage everyone to think big, even at the expense of being ridiculed by others… I have to conclude with one last quote by T.S Eliot:

“Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go”

Happy Sunday!

About Loulou Khazen Baz

Entrepreneur and rebel. Founder of nabbesh.com, the Middle East's Skills Marketplace. My blog captures my thoughts on my entrepreneurial journey as well as my views on matters I care about such as the Middle East region and Women's rights. My favorite quote by John A. Shedd sets the tone of my blog: “A ship in a harbour is safe, but this is not what a ship is built for”. So after spending my life building my own ship, meticulously crafting it, engineering it, and testing it, it’s time for the ship to sail. I’ve set the course and started my journey.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment